About Us

HomeAbout Us

VoegelinView is an interdisciplinary and international website dedicated to the thought of Eric Voegelin as well as to political philosophy as public commentary that includes all aspects of culture, including philosophy, religion, politics, society, science, education, and literature. It is also a resource for those who wish to learn more about Eric Voegelin’s own political thought. VoegelinView publishes daily. The Eric Voegelin Society © publishes VoegelinView.

There are three type of entries on VoegelinView: articles, essays, and book reviews. Articles are academic works written for a scholarly audience but available for all to read, comment, and criticize; essays are aimed for the public to elucidate and illuminate both topical and timeless topics; and book reviews are critical investigation of both scholarly and non-scholarly works. Articles, essays, and book reviews need not examine Voegelin’s writings; however, all submissions should embody the spirit of Voegelin’s work, particularly its realism, freedom from ideology and cant, and concern to analyze critically the subject of study. All writing should be academically informed and publicly accessible.

VoegelinView also provides announcements for the Voegelin community as well as resources for those who wish to learn more about Eric Voegelin. A list of Voegelin’s collected works, excerpts from his writings, and audio and video recordings are available on this website. It also provides a list of other organizations, relevant websites, and archival links about Eric Voegelin.

Potential contributors should consult our submissions guidelines and our policy on questions of copyright and publication. If you have questions, please email Lee Trepanier at [email protected]

Editor-in-Chief: Lee Trepanier is Editor-in-Chief. He is a Professor of Political Science, Department Chair, and University Pre-Law Advisor at Saginaw Valley State University in Michigan where he teaches political philosophy, constitutional law, American Politics. He is also the editor of Lexington Books series Politics, Literature, and Film. He can be reached at [email protected]

Book Review Editor: John von Heyking (University of Lethbridge, Canada)

Associate Editors: Alan Baily (Stephen F. Austin University, Texas), Luigi Bradizza (Salve Regina University, Rhode Island), Claudia Franziska Brühwiler (University of St. Gallen, Switzerland), Eugene Callahan (St. Joseph’s College, New York), Colin Cordner (Carleton University, Canada), Kirk Fitzpatrick (Southern Utah University, Utah), Khalil M. Habib (Salve Regina University, Rhode Island), Kimberly Hurd Hale (Coastal Carolina University, South Carolina), Sara MacDonald (St. Thomas University, Canada), Jeremy Mhire (Louisiana Tech University, Louisiana), Jonathan Ratcliffe (Australian National University), Scott Robinson (Houston Baptist University, Texas), David Whitney (Nicholls State University, Louisiana)

Board of Advisors: Richard Avaramenko (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Barry Cooper (University of Calgary), Jack D. Elliot (Mississippi State University); Neal Fuller (independent scholar), Jürgen Gebhardt (University of Erlangen-Nürenberg, Germany), Thierry Gontier (Université Jean Moulin – Lyon 3, France), Thomas Heilke (University of British Columbia, Canada), Michael Henry (St. John’s University, New York), John von Heyking (University of Lethbridge, Canada), Daniel J. Mahoney (Assumption College, Massachusetts), William Petropulos (University of Munich, Germany), Brendan Purcell (Notre Dame University, Australia), Tilo Schabert (University of Erlangen, Germany), Ronald D. Srigley (Laurentian University & Humber College, Canada), James Stoner (Louisiana State University), Arpad Szakolczai (University College Cork, Ireland), Lee Trepanier (Saginaw Valley State University, Michigan), David Walsh (Catholic University of America, Washington D.C.)

Chair of Board of Advisors: David Walsh (Catholic University of America, Washington D.C.)

Administrator and Management: Neal Fuller

Publisher: The Eric Voegelin Society

Founder: Fritz Wagner

Past Editors-in-Chief: Fritz Wagner (2009-13), Ronald D. Srigley (2013-16)